Home » Categories » Bylaws

Article II: Governance

Section 1. System Council

The System Council will consist of the directors of the full member libraries or their designated delegate. It will meet at least four times annually. It will be responsible for election of members to the Executive Board and will vote on policies and other matters, including the budget, brought to its attention by the Executive Board. A simple majority of members of the System Council shall constitute a quorum at all meetings.

Section 2: Executive Board

  1. Election and Term: There shall be an Executive Board, which shall consist of twelve members, nine of which shall be library directors from the System Council. Trustees from the library boards of the member libraries shall fill two positions. One member of the Executive Board shall be appointed by the Bergen County Executive each year.

    Nine positions on the Executive Board shall be comprised of library directors who are elected by the directors of the full member libraries.  The nominating process for directors who would like to run for election will be open, so that any library director may self-nominate should he/she wish to run for election to the Executive Board.  The Nominations Committee will not mediate whose name is/is not placed on the ballot.  These nine Executive Board members will be elected for three year terms.  The Nominations Committee will hereafter be reconfigured as the Election Committee, to reflect that the annual charges of this committee will be managing the election process.

    Directors are ineligible to run for two consecutive terms.  They must wait a minimum of one year prior to running for election after serving a full three-year term.  Directors who fill an unexpired term of eighteen months or less are eligible to run for election at the end of their partial term.

    In September 2016 a specially structured election will be held to fill seven vacant positions in a way that configures the nine elected Board positions so that thereafter three positions will be open for election annually.  In the 2016 election, one position will be filled by a director running for a one-year term, expiring 12/31/2017; three positions will be filled by directors running for two year terms, expiring 12/31/2018; and three positions will be filled by directors running for a standard three-year term, expiring 12/31/2019.  This specially structured election will set up a rotation so that going forward three Board positions will open up annually. 

    Elections for the Executive Board will take place via online voting, using a protocol designed to ensure that only library directors or their designees are enabled to vote online, vote once, etc.  Online elections will be scheduled over a two-week period to provide ample opportunity for directors or their designees to vote.  Elections will commence at the System Council meeting in September. 

    The Executive Board shall meet at least six times a year.

    Trustees from the library boards of the member libraries shall fill two positions. Appointments shall be for a calendar year on a rotational basis: Rotation order of libraries shall be determined by lottery, picked by the President of the System. The selection of the individual trustees to serve will be made by local Boards after a library is selected in the lottery. Trustee members shall be selected from among only those trustees listed on the Public Library Statistical Report and only that trustee selected may serve as a member of the Executive Board. The rotation shall not permit the director and a trustee from the same library to serve simultaneously.

    Should a library’s board of trustees decline to serve when selected, it may do so, and will be eligible for the next drawing. Should a vacancy occur the library board from the municipality may appoint a replacement from its number to fulfill the unexpired term.

    After two unexcused consecutive absences from a Board meeting, the offending member will be informed in writing that his/her pattern of non-participation is unacceptable and that he/she has forfeited the Board position.

  2. Duties: The Executive Board shall have the authority and responsibility to recommend the annual budget and schedule of fees, with input from the Executive Director, to the System Council for approval; develop and recommend policies and programs, with input from the Executive Director, to the System Council for approval; Recommend plans and priorities for program development, with input from the Executive Director, to the System Council for approval; advise the Executive Director on the interpretation of policies, plans, and budget schedules, as approved by the System Council, and authorize the operating procedures for the implementing of same; Review the Annual Report prepared by the Executive Director for submission to the System Council. 

Section 3. Vacancies

Any elected vacancies on the Executive Board occurring between annual fall meetings shall be filled by a general election to complete the unexpired term not later than thirty (30) days after the vacancy occurs.

 Addendum:    Director and Trustee Rotation on the Executive Board 

Year Serving Group 1 Group 2 Group 3 Group 4 Group 5 Trustees
2002 Demarest   Livingston Ramsey Wallington, Wood-Ridge Carlstadt, Englewood
2003 Dumont Hoboken Lodi Ridgefield West Caldwell Old Tappan, Wood-Ridge
2004 East Rutherford Ho-Ho-Kus Lyndhurst Ridgefield Park Westwood Fair Lawn, Nutley
2005 Edgewater Englewood Mahwah Ridgewood Wood-Ridge East Rutherford, Midland Park
2006 Elmwood Park Fair Lawn Maywood River Edge Wyckoff Glen Rock, Hoboken
2007 Emerson Fairview Midland Park River Vale Rutherford Demarest, Ridgewood
2008 Allendale Fort Lee Millburn Rochelle Park Saddle Brook Westwood, Washington Twp
2009 Bergenfield Franklin Lakes Montvale Nutley Secaucus West Caldwell, Ridgefield Park
2010 Bogota Garfield New Milford Old Tappan Teaneck Bergenfield, Ridgefield
2011 Carlstadt Glen Ridge North Arlington Oakland Tenafly Ramsey, River Vale
2012 Closter Glen Rock North Bergen Oradell Upper Saddle River Paramus, Maywood
2013 Cliffside Park Hackensack Leonia Palisades Park Waldwick Upper Saddle River, Oradell
2014 Cresskill Harrington Park Little Ferry Paramus Wallington Hackensack, Tenafly
2015 Bloomfield Hasbrouck Heights Norwood Park Ridge Washington Twp Wallington, Lodi
2016 Demarest Haworth Montclair Roseland Weehawken Park Ridge, Lyndhurst

**On June 16, 2016, System Council voted to change from a rotational system to an all-elected Executive Board except for the 2 rotational trustees.

Year Serving Trustee 1 Trustee 2
2017 Glen Ridge Montvale
2018 TBD TBD
2019 TBD TBD



0 (0)
Article Rating (No Votes)
Rate this article
  • Icon PDFExport to PDF
  • Icon MS-WordExport to MS Word
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Comments Comments
There are no comments for this article. Be the first to post a comment.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Article X: Devices, Grants, and Bequests
Viewed 882 times since Mon, Aug 11, 2014
Article VIII: Meetings
Viewed 986 times since Mon, Aug 11, 2014
Article I: Organization & Membership
Viewed 1761 times since Fri, Aug 8, 2014
Article XIII: Limitations
Viewed 915 times since Mon, Aug 11, 2014
Article XII: Dissolution
Viewed 801 times since Mon, Aug 11, 2014
Article IX: Investments & Income
Viewed 873 times since Mon, Aug 11, 2014
Article IV: The BCCLS Computer Consortium
Viewed 985 times since Mon, Aug 11, 2014
Article VII: Policies
Viewed 1083 times since Mon, Aug 11, 2014
Article V: Committees
Viewed 929 times since Mon, Aug 11, 2014
Article III: Personnel & Officers
Viewed 1084 times since Fri, Aug 8, 2014