Home » Categories » Executive Board » 2017

02.23.17 - EB Meeting Minutes - Special




Maywood Public Library

February 23, 2017




PRESIDING:                 Kurt Hadeler                              Mahwah

PRESENT:                    Marie Coughlin                          BCCLS

                                      Christine Hartigan                     East Rutherford

                                      Jennifer Breuer                         Glen Ridge

                                      Mimi Hui                                    Hasbrouck Heights

                                      Laurence Bergmann                 Livingston

                                      Daragh O'Connor                     River Edge

                                     Gina Webb-Metz                       Tenafly

                                      Laura Rifkin                              Washington Township

                                     Samantha McCoy                      West Caldwell


ALSO PRESENT:         Darlene Swistock                      Recorder of Minutes


NOT PRESENT:            Tina DeLucia                             New Milford

                                       Susan Meeske                          Old Tappan


GUESTS:                      Gerry McMahon                        Franklin Lakes

                                      Monica Smith                            Hawthorne

                                      Marilyn Rees                             Hawthorne

                                      Dave Franz                               Hillsdale

                                      Amy Babcock-Landry               Livingston

                                      Caitlin Hull                                Maywood

                                      Terrie McColl                            New Milford

                                      Leonard LoPinto                       Paramus

                                      Kathleen McGrail                      Upper Saddle River

                                      Margaret Mellett                        Wood-Ridge


1.   Call to Order

Kurt Hadeler called the meeting to order at 9:01 am.  He explained that the purpose of this special meeting of the Executive Board is to hear the proposed changes to Article 1, Sections 2 & 3 of the BCCLS Bylaws.


2.   Public Portion 

Comments regarding the proposed changes to Article 1, Sections 2 & 3 of the BCCLS Bylaws will be discussed during the Membership Hearing.


3.   New Business:

Gerry McMahon and Kathleen McGrail presented the Bylaws Committee's proposed changes to Article 1, Sections 2 & 3 of the BCCLS Bylaws.  The objective is to introduce these changes to the System Council in March and vote to amend the Bylaws at System Council in June.  Article 1, Section 2 has been revised to include a definition of BCCLS Services:  shared computer systems, resource sharing/reciprocal borrowing, staff/trustee development opportunities, digital products/services and advocacy on behalf of member libraries.  Article 1, Section 3 has been revised to clarify the qualifications of membership and contracting for individuals and municipalities.  The contracting fee would become effective in January 2018 and will be determined by the Bylaws and Policies & Procedures Committees.  If the bylaws state the formula for the fee, rather than the actual fee itself, fees can be reviewed and updated through Policies & Procedures rather than amending the bylaws each time.


4.   Membership Hearing 

A lengthy discussion followed regarding how the fee for paid cards would be assessed, if courtesy cards would fall into the same category, grandfathering effected libraries, interlibrary loans, competition for paycards within BCCLS and general bylaw information.

Kurt Hadeler summarized that everyone seems to be in agreement of the definition of BCCLS services, but there are still concerns about courtesy cards, fees and the payment of an annual fee that need to be addressed.  The proposal can be sent to Policies & Procedures to determine reasonable fees for paid cards and presented at the System Council in June before the bylaws are voted upon. 

There was no motion from the Executive Board to send the revisions to bylaws as presented to System Council at the March meeting. 

A motion was made to send the revised proposal back to the Bylaws Committee.  It was made by Laura Rifkin and seconded by Christine Hartigan.  The motion also includes requesting clarification from the attorney regarding the proposed fee, annual payment and courtesy cards.  Motion carried.

All in favor.  Samantha McCoy abstained.  Motion passed.


5.  Adjournment

It was MOVED by:  Samantha McCoy                Seconded by:  Laurence Bergmann

To adjourn at 10:23 am

Unanimously approved.

































dms:  3/2/17

0 (0)
Article Rating (No Votes)
Rate this article
  • Icon PDFExport to PDF
  • Icon MS-WordExport to MS Word
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Comments Comments
There are no comments for this article. Be the first to post a comment.
Related Articles RSS Feed
09.08.17 - EB Meeting Minutes - Special
Viewed 687 times since Mon, Sep 25, 2017
06.02.17 - EB Meeting Minutes - Special
Viewed 744 times since Thu, Jun 8, 2017
11.08.17 - EB Meeting - Minutes
Viewed 609 times since Sun, Nov 19, 2017
04.12.17 - EB Meeting Minutes
Viewed 1132 times since Wed, Apr 26, 2017
05.10.17 - EB Meeting Agenda
Viewed 605 times since Mon, May 8, 2017
01.11.17 - EB Meeting Minutes
Viewed 1036 times since Fri, Jan 20, 2017
08.09.17 - EB Meeting Minutes
Viewed 925 times since Mon, Sep 25, 2017
10.26.17 - EB Meeting - Minutes
Viewed 616 times since Sun, Nov 19, 2017
06.02.17 - EB Meeting Agenda - Special
Viewed 625 times since Thu, Jun 1, 2017
08.09.17 - EB Meeting Agenda
Viewed 540 times since Thu, Aug 3, 2017